Work on your Strengths

Sometime back, I blogged about one video of Maxwell’s conference under ‘Success Lesson’ title. I got impressed with his statement – ‘work on your strengths & not on your weaknesses’. Human life has a mix of both strengths & weaknesses. To my knowledge starting from childhood every human is programmed to tackle their weaknesses & not to work on their strengths. Our teachers and parents advise us to concentrate on subjects with low score & not to the subject with high score. There is a sure interview question on strengths and weaknesses of you. I know few people who told truth about their weaknesses not got selected for the job. We feel guilty about our weaknesses, spend whole life to overcome it & die without achieving anything. But in history, you can see those who really understood how to improve their strong talents were(are) the Champions. They are the one who diminished their weaknesses by outperforming on their strength areas.

Strength The whole world is there to talk about my weaknesses. But how to find my strengths? how to make use of my strengths? I searched for more info on this topic. I got a reference about one book ‘Now, discover your strengths’ by Marcus Buckingham. Though I tried a lot on getting the online assessment that comes along with the book, it took almost a year for me to get that.  Today I did the online assessment using Strengths Finder 2.0. I got top 5 strengths of mine. When I shared the list to my wife, she got really amazed on the reality of the assessment results! It is exact reflection of me  in a PDF report! Along with the list I got dozen of action plans for every strength.

Now, I feel a lot better, that too in the beginning of 2010, with my top 5 strengths known to me & action plans ready to work for next 11 months to make this new year a best year in my life. I encourage everyone to take the online assessment. It costs me just 600 bucks (Indian Rupees or USD$20) which is cheaper when compared to the results you are going to achieve for the entire lifetime.

2 thoughts on “Work on your Strengths

  1. Should people be interested in getting to know and putting their best foot forward, they should look at going through the book ‘Strengths based leadership’. As in Strengths Finder 2.0, you have the coupon and can get your strengths established through the assessment.

    Rgds – Sai

    • Thanks for your wishes. I am interested in trying ‘Strengths based leadership’. It was out of stock when I visited the shop – I will do it once I get a copy of that book.

Leave a Reply

